Whew, it’s 2012 already?!?!

Where did the time go? It seems like just yesterday I was looking forward to my long vacation and now it’s over. Oh well, it’s good to get back to the ole routine too.  What did my Christmas vacation look like this year? Well the first week crazy craftiness ensued. (Warning: Photo heavy post)

Skirts:  I finished up one skirt I started back in the early spring, completely made the second from start to finish, and started the refashion of a thrifted white skirt and started tweaking a fourth. I can’t wait to complete those soon too and get photos of all.

Sweater Refashion: I mentioned I wanted to refashion this thrifted sweater here and I finally got around to it.

Can you tell I was using my new lens for these shots? The very fist photo is the truest representation of the sweater’s color. I want to make some fabric flowers with the remnants but didn’t have any luck with my first couple of attempts.

DIY Lampshade fail: I actually started this one before my vacation. I was so excited to show it to you, but alas it ended up in the trash. My dad actually helped me with this one, welding some of the parts, but in the end it just didn’t work out. From this though I did make fake capis shell garland, which I used on out little tree and hope to later turn into a chandelier for over our bed? Still working on this one.

Ornaments: I completed a set of 6 ornaments I had pinned back in the fall, then gave away three as Christmas gifts. I cut out the circles to make more but never got them glued together.  I guess I started losing my momentum after the first week.

Snowflakes: Make a total of two cut-out from paper! Winter’s not over yet so there is still time to make more!!! AND I saw a snowflake pine cone wreath on Pinterest the other day that I would like to try making for our front porch area.

In between the craft-making-messes I managed to make dinner everyday and even try out a few crock-pot meals too found via Pinterest.

Crock-pot meals: I believe I officially made 3 or 4 of these, but they yielded enough for a couple of meals. Most were well received and will be made again.

Pinning: due to my new phone and trying to entertain Caveboy, Pinterest has become a trusty friend! HA, ha! There are some seriously great ideas on there, not to mention the beautiful photographs.

The second week was mostly spent with my guys and our families!

Caveboy spent a lot of time playing with his new toys, especially his new train-set. Caveman & I rang in the New Year, but Caveboy couldn’t make it that long. His momma went to bed promptly 15 minutes later too, so the apple obviously doesn’t fall far from the tree. I did manage to squeeze in one more craft project (with Caveman’s help) that I’ve been working on for a while – a…

TP sunburst mirror: I love sunburst mirrors in general and most all are beautiful; but my most favorite ever sunburst mirrors are Edie’s mirrors that she found at a local furniture store for her girl’s room. I attempted to recreate this mirror but in the end it just wasn’t mean to be. These things have been pinned and blogged about for months now, so I really don’t need to go into detail as to how I created mine. Caveman painted it for me with Oil Rubbed Bronze Rustoleum & he did a great job coating it evenly all over. I’ll do a separate post on this baby! So you’ll just have to wait a little longer for photos.

That about sums it up, although I did forget to mention I got a haircut (see top photo for evidence). She had to chop off about 2 or 3 inches due to dead and overly dry ends, which seems like a lot, but my hair is so much healthier and I love it. Look for the “Why I went red” post to come in February, which will mark one whole year of red hair.

I hope everyone’s Christmas was merry and bright and your New Year is the happiest yet!

One thought on “Whew, it’s 2012 already?!?!

  1. Pingback: Spring Green « Rubys N Purls

Leave a Reply

