DIY Liquid Laundry Soap!

As many of you may have guessed, I’m always looking for a way to save a buck or two (or ten)! When I saw loads of Pins recently for DIY’ing your own laundry soap I wanted to give it a try. So the weekend before Valentine’s I jumped in and made my first batch! We’ve used it this past month and a half and really liked the way it smells and how well it gets the clothes clean. Enter this weekend, I needed to make more because I was down to a half a bottle. I thought I would document my endeavor along with my tips and tricks for washing laundry naturally too!

image

I used this recipe from the Family Homestead to make my soap. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup each borax and Washing Soda & a 1/3 bar Fels Naptha; but for this second batch I upped Washing Soda & Borax to almost 1 cup each. We’ll see how it goes but the only difference I can see so far is it a thicker gel.

image

Grating a third of the Fels Naptha bar

I grate the Fels Naptha bar directly into the large pot and then pour in the 6 cups of water, that way I can wash off the soap residue from the grater and hardly any gets wasted. I swear it smells like I’m making banana pudding every time I do this, LOL!

image

Foamy on top, yellowish liquid on the bottom

After adding the initial 6 cups, heat over medium heat until the soap is dissolved. Next add in the washing soda and Borax and 4 cups of water, heating again until everything is dissolved. Next add in the remaining water and turn off the heat. Cover with a lid and let it cool down, sitting for about 24 hours.

The next afternoon I took the lid off and I had a solid gel in my pot with minimal liquid. I took a plastic spatula and “chopped” up the liquid. I kept thinking a potato masher would be awesome to have at this point. I apologize for the lack of photos at this point, but I was concentrating on not sloshing the stuff over the sides (which happened twice).

image

Dividing up the soap into containers

All I had was  a Ball canning funnel, but it fit my used liquid laundry container perfectly. I used it’s pour spout to pour into my other containers. The larger container in the back is a 1 gallon container, the other two hold the remaining gallon.

image

2 gallons of DIY Laundry Soap!

Next time I do the laundry I add 1/2 to 1 cup of this soap to each load depending on the size. If you prefer you can add essential oils to the soap but we like the smell of the Fels Naptha just fine. Another great tip to pass along is if you want to disinfect your laundry without bleach, add 1/4 cup of peroxide to wash via the bleach dispenser. This really gets the laundry clean and fresh. I also add straight white vinegar into the liquid fabric softener dispenser so it gets into the final rinse. I’m loving these natural alternatives for doing my laundry these days.

I’m linking up to these great linky parties today!

Skip To My Lou Keeping It Simple The Girl Creative 52 Mantels The 36th AVENUE

12 thoughts on “DIY Liquid Laundry Soap!

  1. Pingback: 2012 Ultimate Blog Party!! « Rubys N Purls

  2. This will be my 1st time attempting this, however I am confused about how much water? It states to add 6 cups of water to the grated bar soap. Then further down it says “add the washing soda, borax and 4 cups of water, heating again until everything is dissolved”. The it states to add the remaining water and turn off heat? Could someone help me on that?

    • I was confused about it too, but I basically just filled up my biggest stock pot which holds about 1.5 gallons. That seemed to work for me, hope this helps you too!

Leave a Reply

