Bitten by the Sewing Bug!

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I was bitten by the sewing bug last Thursday, when I had to stay home and wait for the phone guy technician to come by and fix our phone lines. I thought I would make good use of the time so I started the Cabo Halter pattern and then finished it up on Saturday. Here it is all done! (well except for the hem)

1st Cabo Halter Profile Cabo Halter I really like this pattern, it’s very clear and super easy to follow. I used some cotton seersucker fabric I got on clearance a year or so ago, but didn’t have enough for the lining. So I improvised and used some solid blue that coordinated, and then I top-stitched over the two fabrics to keep them in place. I am pleased with how this top turned out overall. I do believe I am going to have to mess with one side of the zipper though. I plan on making a second one using this fabric:

Next Cabo Halter I also plan on making this pattern soon.

New Look #6669 Using these fabrics: Chocolate flowers Teal fabric Pink Flowers

The teal eyelet and pink flowers are already cut out for view B and C.

I picked up a couple of magazines about a month ago, Vogue Patterns & the new Sew Stylish. The Sew Stylish has some really great tips and tricks. I am glad I got this issue just for the references to the different ways to make a seam, putting in a zipper (I am horrible at this!) and really great section on measuring yourself. The Vogue Patterns mag is great too, esp the sections that show exactly how they tweaked a pattern or fabric to fit the pattern.

 

3 thoughts on “Bitten by the Sewing Bug!

Leave a Reply

