Where did the weekend go?

Caveman & I spent all weekend painting the office in preparation for the moving of my work office to our home. Here’s a refresher of what the office looked like before. Do you see that little bit of border left?

Before border removal

Baby Border Isn’t that just the cutest nursery border? It probably was 15 years ago, but this stuff took me all week to get off! Every night I came home last week thinking this will be the night I manage to finally get the border off and start painting. Friday night I finally got the above corner finished and then painted the ceiling.

Saturday morning, Caveman & I got up early, and after a quick hair cut we came home and painted the primer coat on the walls. While this dried we went to Home Depot to get the actual paint! πŸ˜‰

As discussed in this post I had a basic color scheme picked out, but here’s the secret to a happily married couple surviving remodel projects and staying happily married. I always take Caveman along and say what color do you want honey? It never fails, he replies whatever you want is fine with me. Well after showing him a few options and giving him 3 or so choices, he picks the color I wanted in the first place, everyone’s happy and then we go home and paint! πŸ˜€ Actually I can’t pick out a good shade in the color I want to save my life. When picking out the living room colors I told him about what I wanted and he finalized the color choice for us. I think we make a good team! πŸ˜‰

Back to the painting, here we are in progress. You can see we hadn’t finished up at the ceiling yet.

Painting in progress Painting in progress

And here’s the result:

Finished office Finished office 2

We even managed to change out the blinds! We are thrilled with the color. Oh it’s called Parisian Taupe by Behr. Now we just need to get some pictures up on the walls and stuff put into the bookcases.

Sunday we spent the morning at my work office doing what else, working on a Sunday no less! We finally came home and mowed the yard, hopefully for the last time this year. I think I need another weekend!

Trellis - back

10 thoughts on “Where did the weekend go?

  1. Looks great! Jim is actually color-blind, so that is his excuse for never picking out colors! I always forget that he is until I walk into a room wearing an orange sweater and he says “oh, nice green color on you.” I don’t say anything!

  2. Looks great! Jim is actually color-blind, so that is his excuse for never picking out colors! I always forget that he is until I walk into a room wearing an orange sweater and he says “oh, nice green color on you.” I don’t say anything!

  3. Hey, the room looks great! I bet it’s a relief to have the color all picked out πŸ™‚ I do the same thing with my hubby: give him a few choices, let him say that he trusts my judgement and then pick something we’ll both like. It works! Sounds like a busy weekend though. I guess you *do* need another one! Isn’t that the way it always goes?

  4. Hey, the room looks great! I bet it’s a relief to have the color all picked out πŸ™‚ I do the same thing with my hubby: give him a few choices, let him say that he trusts my judgement and then pick something we’ll both like. It works! Sounds like a busy weekend though. I guess you *do* need another one! Isn’t that the way it always goes?

  5. The office looks great! I finally got our family painted (again) and the new color is much better. I am glad you and Caveman can work together so well. Trellis is looking great!

  6. The office looks great! I finally got our family painted (again) and the new color is much better. I am glad you and Caveman can work together so well. Trellis is looking great!

Leave a Reply

