Diary of a hat

As you read from the previous post, we never made it to the Christmas party in Maryland, so we just hung out, sat around a wonderful warm fire and I worked on Caveman’s hat. Yeah, I know I said I wanted to keep it a secret, but Caveman hates surprises as much as I do – so he found out about a week ago. Heres the hat, minus the lining.

1st attempt at Pirates

It looks pretty good. In this one you can see that I cast on too many stitches so I had a double separating white & black row, but that’s really no biggy…

back of 1st attempt

It looks pretty good except for a couple of mistakes. Next test – try on Caveman’s head…. too big. 😦 It fit me pretty good, esp with all the hair!

1st Pirates on J

He could start to see after he rolled up the first row of skulls, so… on to redesigning the pattern to fit his head. I probably should have measured his head from the crown down in the first place, but I guess you live and you learn, right?! At least I did measure the circumference before starting. Hello Yarn says that you can hand wash the hat and then shrink in the dryer, but I only used the white in feltable wool. I could just see all the pulling and mangled yarn mess.

2nd Pirates redesigned

I used the Generic Norwegian Hat Chart also provided by Hello Yarn. I took out a total of 10 rows, that’s one less row than a full skull. I cast-on yesterday afternoon and almost completed one row of skulls before bed. I almost have the proper way (is there really one) of holding the two yarns at the same time and knitting with them.

I am going to finish lining the other hat and gift it to one of our brothers, probably mine. Hopefully he’ll like it and I know it will fit his head. But before I can complete either hat I had to order more yarn from KnitPicks. Caveman was pretty happy with that purchase, gee I wonder why? πŸ˜‰

More updates later this week… hope you have a great one!

10 thoughts on “Diary of a hat

  1. Oh goodness….a bit big but you did a fantastic job! I am always impressed when colorwork turns out so well…even if it doesn’t fit! Good for you for trying it again…that is not always easy to do!

  2. Oh goodness….a bit big but you did a fantastic job! I am always impressed when colorwork turns out so well…even if it doesn’t fit! Good for you for trying it again…that is not always easy to do!

  3. The hat looks great! Sorry it won’t fit, but I’m glad you have another recipient for it πŸ™‚ And now that Caveman knows what he’s getting, you can work on it “in public” more easily.

  4. The hat looks great! Sorry it won’t fit, but I’m glad you have another recipient for it πŸ™‚ And now that Caveman knows what he’s getting, you can work on it “in public” more easily.

Leave a Reply

