Best of 2007 Meme

Knit Lit created this great little meme. I first saw it on Lolly’s blog and then on Tenten Knits, so I thought I would participate too!

1. your best FO of the year – This one is tough, I was most proud of making my first sweater – Eiffel. But I would probably say the two-toned shrug is my favorite. The fit and yarn made this sweater great.

All Black Two-Toned Shrug

2. best FO of the year made by a blog you link to – This one is tough too, ’cause there are so many great designers out there. But probably Ysolda’s Little Black Lacy Cardigan. I can’t wait until she comes out with the pattern for this one!

3. best yarn you tried
– It’s a toss up between two yarns I received from a couple of swaps this year.

Hand Maiden

From my Coffee Swap Partner, La Verna – Hand Maiden fine yarn, called Ottawa. 92% Wool and 8% Viscose and there’s 600m. I’m using this one to make the Jane Cross-over sweater. I love the colors and the way it’s knitting up.

Cascade PastazaCascade Pastaza – there was enough to make the Cozy V-neck from Stephanie Japel’s Book Fitted Knits. I received this yarn from my Secret Pal Robin!

4. best new book/mag/pattern of 2007
– There are loads and loads of great knitting books that come out every year, but this year my favorite was definitely Stephanie Japel’s book Fitted Knits! I’ve made 4 sweaters from this book so far and there’s still a few more I’d love to make!

I am looking forward to a few of the books coming out this year too. I really want to get Knitting Classic Style by Veronik Avery and Sensual Knits by Yahaira Ferreira. I also have really enjoyed the Interweave Knits this year, I can’t wait to get started on a couple of the great designs. I’m always impressed by Eunny Jang’s work. I also love some of Anna Bell creations. Cherry is definitely in my queue for this Spring, esp after seeing this one!

5. best new knitting technique or gadget you tried in 2007
– Knitting Technique: top-down construction. Did you see my last post? LOL

6. top 5 inspirations–what five things inspired you the most over the past year?
– fit, little-to no seaming, but overall popularity of a design or popularity of a designer has been the biggest inspiration. I love looking at what fellow knitters are creating and their vision for a design. I would have never made the two-tone shrug if I hadn’t seen an all black one first!

7. designer who most amazed & inspired you throughout the year
– I have to break this one up into two parts. First in the spring Stephanie Japel definitely inspired me with her beautiful designs, but during the latter half of the year I was inspired by Ysolda and her many beautiful creations. Both designers create fitted designs while making them femininely modern at the same time.

8. knitting resolutions for 2008–what’s next for you and your blog?

For me: finding a better balance. I really enjoy knitting and discovering designs that inspire me to knit – esp on Ravelry, BUT over the past year this great new hobby of mine has taken over every aspect of my life. I really want to develop a better routine for myself that incorporates knitting, but also exercising, spending quality time with Caveman, getting outside and enjoying life!

For the blog: keeping it, but incorporating it into the balance of my life as well. Over 2007 the blog moved from Blogger to WordPress and I had my first blogiversary. πŸ˜‰ There’s always room for improvement, so for 2008 I’d like to develop better writing habits, techniques, etc. and maybe reach more people.

I’d like to say Thank You to everyone for stopping by and reading my little blog, I really appreciate all the wonderful comments! πŸ™‚ I’d love to see your answers to this meme too. Go on over the Knit Lit’s blog for the questions! I hope you and your family have a wonderful, blessed, and very prosperous New Year in 2008!

Happy New Year! And Happy Knitting! πŸ˜€

13 thoughts on “Best of 2007 Meme

  1. Wow, this has been an inspiring and delightful list. I followed almost all your links, and found that I truly love the blog by Ysolda. I also found a version of Casscade that I’d not known of before. Thanks for such a great blog! Happy New Year

  2. Wow, this has been an inspiring and delightful list. I followed almost all your links, and found that I truly love the blog by Ysolda. I also found a version of Casscade that I’d not known of before. Thanks for such a great blog! Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

