Fearless Knitting in 2008!

Did you happen to see today’s Knitting Daily Post? Sandi challenges knitters everywhere to make 2008 the year for knitting fearlessly. I must have been channeling her yesterday or something because I decided to conquer my fear of sock knitting in 2008, so I started on the very first day! Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Class Sock

This is the Class Sock from Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch and I am on the heal flap. I was too scared to just jump right in with real sock yarn. So does this look right so far? I’m using too circs right now but I may have to use dpns later on. I have 3 US size 1 circular needles and 2 US size 3 circs, but only one US size 2 circular needle. Maybe this is what my Mom can get me for a belated Christmas present. πŸ˜‰

It was back to the old grindstone today. Nothing too bad, in fact I actually figured some things out that were plaguing me before the break. Nothing like a little time off to step back and regroup.

Happy Knitting!

22 thoughts on “Fearless Knitting in 2008!

  1. I have this very same book. I love it!

    you are doing a great job!

    I took the book, punched holes in the pages after seperating them, and placed them in a notebook so that I could have it open to where I needed it to be….that was the best thing I could do because I couldn’t keep it open to my pages the other way. LOL

    I haven’t tried using two circulars, I use dpn’s & Charlene’s patterns are right on. I especially love how she does the gusset/heel. just wait until you get your sock finished. You will love the way the ‘sides’ have no holes where the gusset is decreased.

    best of luck with this sock, I know you can do it!

  2. I have this very same book. I love it!

    you are doing a great job!

    I took the book, punched holes in the pages after seperating them, and placed them in a notebook so that I could have it open to where I needed it to be….that was the best thing I could do because I couldn’t keep it open to my pages the other way. LOL

    I haven’t tried using two circulars, I use dpn’s & Charlene’s patterns are right on. I especially love how she does the gusset/heel. just wait until you get your sock finished. You will love the way the ‘sides’ have no holes where the gusset is decreased.

    best of luck with this sock, I know you can do it!

  3. Love the idea of fearless knitting. I really enjoyed my 2007 knits, even though I didn’t really get going until the fall.

    Fearless to me would probably be lace work, and I really have no desire for it. I’m going to ‘fearlessly’ tackle every stranded color work piece I can get my hands on. Hope that’s fearless enough for the knitting gods of ’08.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Love the idea of fearless knitting. I really enjoyed my 2007 knits, even though I didn’t really get going until the fall.

    Fearless to me would probably be lace work, and I really have no desire for it. I’m going to ‘fearlessly’ tackle every stranded color work piece I can get my hands on. Hope that’s fearless enough for the knitting gods of ’08.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Just jumped into the sock myself (before reading the knitting daily post). Did a pair for my daughter in a day (in Lorna’s Laces flamingo colorway–based on Ann Budd’s “Getting Started Knitting Socks”)and am now working on a pair for myself. Definitely use the DPN’s. The short ones. I used 8″ for my dd’s socks and it was insane. Using 6″ for mine and it’s so much easier. Bought a whole set of 5″ needles in 0-3 today. Maybe next I’ll move onto toothpicks. πŸ™‚

    Do not fret. You can do it (if *I* can, anyone can –even in sock yarn) Buena Suerte!

  6. Just jumped into the sock myself (before reading the knitting daily post). Did a pair for my daughter in a day (in Lorna’s Laces flamingo colorway–based on Ann Budd’s “Getting Started Knitting Socks”)and am now working on a pair for myself. Definitely use the DPN’s. The short ones. I used 8″ for my dd’s socks and it was insane. Using 6″ for mine and it’s so much easier. Bought a whole set of 5″ needles in 0-3 today. Maybe next I’ll move onto toothpicks. πŸ™‚

    Do not fret. You can do it (if *I* can, anyone can –even in sock yarn) Buena Suerte!

  7. Way to go with the socks! They look perfect. The best part about socks is that if they don’t come out like you want them, you have a great new pair of slippers. πŸ˜‰

  8. Way to go with the socks! They look perfect. The best part about socks is that if they don’t come out like you want them, you have a great new pair of slippers. πŸ˜‰

  9. If you can, do some test knitting with a friend’s DPNs before investing in your own. Some people like using 5″ DPNs for socks, but other people find that those short needles poke them (rather uncomfortably!) in the palm.

    Another option to consider: 12″ Addi Turbos. I recently switched from DPNs to 12″ needles for sock knitting (and they’re useful for mittens and sweater sleeves as well), and wow, what a difference they make. I still have to DPNs for the heel and toe, but the 12″ lets me just cruise through the “straight” parts–and avoid ladders, too!

  10. If you can, do some test knitting with a friend’s DPNs before investing in your own. Some people like using 5″ DPNs for socks, but other people find that those short needles poke them (rather uncomfortably!) in the palm.

    Another option to consider: 12″ Addi Turbos. I recently switched from DPNs to 12″ needles for sock knitting (and they’re useful for mittens and sweater sleeves as well), and wow, what a difference they make. I still have to DPNs for the heel and toe, but the 12″ lets me just cruise through the “straight” parts–and avoid ladders, too!

Leave a Reply

