A tangled yarn anyone?

Last week I was reading through bloglines and I saw this post from the Plucky Knitter requesting people who might want to untangle some of her yarns. I left the second comment on her post and really didn’t think much else about it. Well imagine my surprise when I checked my email later that day and she said she had more yarn to untangle! I was so excited that I quickly responded to her email and told her to surprise me with whatever she wanted to send my way. Well here’s what I got in the mail today!

Green Tangled Yarn

Isn’t it beautiful and so soft too? Of course you need a close-up.

Clost-up Tangled Yarn

I’m going to have lots of fun untangling this later! I’m so excited! I have no idea what the weight is – although I think it’s probably fingering weight, nor do I know the amount. I wonder what I could make with this? Socks – a scarf? 😉 Thank you Sarah!! Go on over and check out her fabulous yarns, they’re amazing!

Ok, there’s trouble in sock-land! I’m afraid the Garter-Rib socks are doomed and I’m only 3.5 inches into the first one. They’re too big!

Garter-Rib Sock

You can see that it’s measuring roughly 4″ across. I measured Caveman’s foot and compared the measurements to the chart to get my numbers, but I keep looking at this sock and it’s so big. So I dug out some of Caveman’s other socks to measure by and it’s about an inch bigger than any of those! Agh! Well it’s back to the drawing board for this sock.

Here’s a pic of it stretched out – that’s 4 to 5 inches!

Stretched Garter-Rib Socks

Moving on…this weekend we had our first fire of the new year and boy was it nice!

First fire of 08

I also received this month’s edition of Light & Tasty magazine on Saturday. I really like this magazine alot. There are so many great recipes to choose from, but I usually cut down further on the amount of sugar that they use in most of the deserts. Saturday night I found a wonderful chocolate brownie recipe. I modified it by totally cutting out the white sugar and substituted 1/3 of a can of whole cranberry sauce and 2 tbsp molasseses instead. They were wonderful as you can see. Here’s what was left today…

Dark Chocolate Brownies

I’m off to re-knit the sock – wait maybe I’ll just go play with my new yarn. Happy Knitting!

12 thoughts on “A tangled yarn anyone?

  1. I like untangling too, on occasion I’ve scored some yarn from work at Lorna’s Laces that we’d be getting rid of because it got tangled. It’s like doing a puzzle! Or undoing one really.

  2. I like untangling too, on occasion I’ve scored some yarn from work at Lorna’s Laces that we’d be getting rid of because it got tangled. It’s like doing a puzzle! Or undoing one really.

Leave a Reply

