We’ve only just begun…

Swift in Action
I thought I would distract you with my pretty new yarn swift in action!

Whew, what a weekend! Sorry to leave you hanging like that, but we’ve been super busy around here and I know you’re here for all the gory details, aren’t you? LOL

Friday, high noon: Rural Septic Systems shows up like a knight in shining armor to pump the tank in the pouring rain. Now I’m not exactly sure if you are familiar with how this process works, but when the guy has pumped the tank half way, he tells you to go inside and flush the toilets and run water in the bathtubs to clear out the drains. So on his command I do this….only when I flush the toilet in the master bath it over flows!!!!

At this point I should stop and say that we purchased this house 4 years ago and have been slowly cosmetically remodeling it ever since. We knew at some point that we would redo the master bath and bedroom: i.e. replace the flooring, paint the walls and even move the toilet to a better location, but we never expected major repairs like this. Oh the joys of home ownership!! LOL

Back to Friday afternoon…I grabbed as many towels as possible (think dirty cloth diapers here!) to stop the dam of water from entering the carpeted master bedroom. Yeah, that didn’t go so well. The carpet still got wet, esp the pad underneath and the sub-floor got wet too. Ewwwwwe!! Did I mention that we sleep in the master bedroom? We did, but not anymore.

Anyway now I’ve been gone so long, the repair guy comes to the front door and knocks. I run to the door to have him ask me if I got sidetracked, uh just a little. Long story short here, the pipe from the house to the septic tank was stopped up. We found out that there was some grease, but mostly laundry detergent clogging up the pipe. I changed detergent back in the winter to Arm & Hammer Baking Powder with bleach. I noticed it clumping up in the washing machine, so I switched to the liquid version instead. Obviously it was clumping in the lines all the way to the tank.

Swift in Action
There’s some more eye candy to keep you going, if you’re still here. πŸ˜‰

Before Caveman got home I had cleaned up the water spill is best as I could and all the tubs and toilets. You couldn’t even tell anything had happened except for the 2″ of dampness on the carpet. Thankfully Caveman cut out the ruined carpet section so we could breath again! πŸ˜‰ We started formulating a plan of attack while we went to my parents for showers again.

Saturday, we got up at 6:00am and started moving everything out of the spare bedroom, so we could move into it. Now this room was my junk/craft/pile everything I possibly could in there room! It was awful! We were going to have a yard sale in another two months with some of the stuff in there, but we’ve been saying that for 3 years, so off to Goodwill it went!

People, I have a confession to make – I am a pack-rat! If it’s shiny, pretty, brightly colored and catches my eye or if I even think I could use it for any reason I will keep it. You know the shows Clean House or Clean Sweep? They could have had their best episodes yet at my house this weekend! That’s probably an over-exaggeration, but there’s still plenty for a yard-sale even after a truck load to Goodwill. Also after my Christmas purchases at WEBs I knew I was going to be on a yarn diet, but now I am officially on a yarn diet – complete with selling a few of my yarns I know I will probably never use. I will be listing said yarn on both Ravelry and my Etsy shop over the next couple of months.

Saturday afternoon, after we were able to move the bed and everything else out of the master bedroom, we removed the carpet and carpet pads. Those were promptly hauled off to the dump! Then we moved what we were keeping back into the room after vacuuming the floors. So over the next couple of months we’ll have our hands full remodeling these rooms!

Oh and the septic system still isn’t working. 😦 Yep, after only two days the 1000 gallon tank is full again. Now we’ve had two showers here (the rest were at my parents house πŸ˜‰ ) and I’ve ran 2 large loads of laundry. I am waiting on a call from the Heath Department to schedule a time for them to come out and confirm that we do indeed need more drainage lines installed and then it’s any body’s guess as to how long it will take to fix this.

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I really hope to maybe get back to working on my Nantucket Jacket some this evening. I think I’m just trying to convince myself I will have the time! LOL There is still alot of work to do yet. πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “We’ve only just begun…

  1. I am *so* sorry Monica!! What a major hassle this has been for you 😦

    But – hee hee – I can totally relate to the pack rat thing! You should see *my* house! I bet I’d give you a run for your money πŸ˜‰

    I know it probably doesn’t seem like it now, but things *will* get better! Here’s to hoping it’s very very very soon πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

