Catching my breath!

It seems like I’ve been trying for days now to post but I just couldn’t find the time. We tried to cram as much as possible into this past weekend, so I’m still recovering. LOL! Oh, Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Friday I made a Pumpkin Pie. Don’t ask, ’cause I don’t know why? I just wanted one. I used 100% Maple Syrup as a sweetener, so that’s why the top is cracked. I’m still eating on this thing and I’m so not in the mood for it anymore! 😛

Pumpkin Pie in May

Last Friday, Caveman’s Spring semester ended and yesterday the Summer semester began. I typically coordinate with him to double check that he’s on track, so he’s been busy all weekend completing everything and getting started on the new semester – I supervised. LOL

Caveman has been attending Liberty University’s Distance Learning Program since August 2005. The classes started out like a traditional school semester (16 weeks), but 6 months into the program the classes were broken into 8-week sub-terms. This may sound nice, but in reality everything is in overdrive – including our lives. Also, like most people he changed his major once, but on July 4th he will have completed all the classes he needs for an Associate of Applied Science degree in Business Administration with an emphasis on Finance. He wants to go ahead and solidify the Associates degree and then work at a slower pace on obtaining the BS. He checked with his adviser yesterday and once he completes the AAS he will only need 11 more classes for his BS. Needless to say I’m so proud of him for going back and getting his degree. It’s been a long hard road, but we are both excited to see where this will lead him in the future!

We took time out on Saturday to help his family move his younger brother to a new location. This of course took longer than we expected – most of the day, so we (mostly Caveman) were wore out.

Sunday, we headed to my parents to do laundry and visit my Mom. It rained alot and the wind blew so hard it knocked a tree down in front of my parent’s house. The tree just blew over, it really didn’t make a sound. Caveman was sitting outside on the front-porch swing, he said he looked one minute and there wasn’t anything there and the next the tree was laid over!

I hope everyone had a great weekend and a Happy Mother’s Day too!

14 thoughts on “Catching my breath!

  1. I know how hectic those distance learning classes can be – I used to teach both six and nine week versions of accounting and tax classes online, and they were exhausting even as a professor!

  2. I know how hectic those distance learning classes can be – I used to teach both six and nine week versions of accounting and tax classes online, and they were exhausting even as a professor!

  3. I would say don’t launder them… most new moms feel the need to wash everything themselves and even if you said you washed it, she would wash it again. In the super expensive baby soap. (That I don’t use.)

    I know a few people who did distance learning thru Liberty too.

  4. I would say don’t launder them… most new moms feel the need to wash everything themselves and even if you said you washed it, she would wash it again. In the super expensive baby soap. (That I don’t use.)

    I know a few people who did distance learning thru Liberty too.

  5. I agree. I always washed everything before I put it on my babies, mainly because our youngest would break out if it wasn’t in dye/scent free soap. The bibs look beautiful, though!

    Congrats to the Caveman for putting in all that hard work!

  6. I agree. I always washed everything before I put it on my babies, mainly because our youngest would break out if it wasn’t in dye/scent free soap. The bibs look beautiful, though!

    Congrats to the Caveman for putting in all that hard work!

  7. pumpkin pie is great any time of the year. yummmmmmm. the last baby thing i made was a baby blanket. and since i have dogs and invariably there is always dog fur embedded in my knitting, thus, I washed the blanket before giving it to it’s new owner’s parents. in the past i haven’t washed cotton things, but from now on, i think i will. woolens though? probably not. love the argyle pattern on that second bib. so neat. did it do that naturally, or do you have a trick?

  8. pumpkin pie is great any time of the year. yummmmmmm. the last baby thing i made was a baby blanket. and since i have dogs and invariably there is always dog fur embedded in my knitting, thus, I washed the blanket before giving it to it’s new owner’s parents. in the past i haven’t washed cotton things, but from now on, i think i will. woolens though? probably not. love the argyle pattern on that second bib. so neat. did it do that naturally, or do you have a trick?

Leave a Reply

