Yoga Wednesday & Baking…

Have you guys seen Lolly’s post about Yoga Wednesday? I recently read an article about practicing Yoga outside after your cardo workouts, so I gave it a try and I love it! Our deck is perfect for doing Yoga, plus I get to look at the trees and sky and our dogs too. I’m pretty sure the dogs think I’m nuts and probably the neighbors too! LOL But you know, finding your focus point is much easier while taking in God’s beautiful creations.

Then while during my practice last night, I kept thinking that I needed to take some pictures of my poses to see if I doing them correctly, etc and of my view while performing the poses.  Well the fabulous Lolly has also created a Flickr Group for us to share our Yoga photos. I think she was reading my mind, no wait – I must have been reading hers! LOL

I’ve been baking and cooking over the past couple of days too. Every now and then I get the urge to bake bread. It almost never turns out how I expect, but this time it came pretty close. I used the Homemade Whole Wheat Bread recipe from Toll House Tried and True Recipes book by Ruth Wakefield.

This book is great and of course it has the famous Toll House Chocolate Chip cookies recipe. My Mom had this book when I was growing up and my brother & I loved to make these cookies. I think we both had the recipe memorized! LOL

Here’s how the bread turned out…

Whole Wheat Bread

Caveman liked it, so it’s all good.

I also decided to make some *raw* food this week. I’m not sure if many of you are familiar with the Raw Food movement, but I tried it for a couple of months last summer and really liked it. I just didn’t stick with it through the winter because I like too many of the classic comfort foods. 😉 One recipe I go back to all the time is the Chocolate Mousse recipe from this book; Raw Food Made Easy for 1 or 2 people by Jennifer Cornbleet.

Chocolate Mousse

In a nutshell it’s avocados, cacao powder, pureed dates, vanilla extract (not raw) and water. I can’t taste the avocados that much, just mostly the dates and chocolate. I love this stuff!

Hope everyone has a great week!!

6 thoughts on “Yoga Wednesday & Baking…

  1. Congrats on making bread that the caveman liked! My husband, who is typically pretty supportive of any cooking I do, encouraged me to stop trying to bake bread… lol.

    Yoga has interested me- in the physical aspect but I have always shied away from it because of the new-agey-ness of it. You know, the “find your center, empty your mind” stuff. Well, my center is Christ, so how does that work? Anyways, I have heard about a Christian yoga DVD that I have been wanting to check out that does the poses/ stretched, but includes scripture and encourages FILLING you mind w/ the word of truth! I’ll let you know about it 🙂

  2. Congrats on making bread that the caveman liked! My husband, who is typically pretty supportive of any cooking I do, encouraged me to stop trying to bake bread… lol.

    Yoga has interested me- in the physical aspect but I have always shied away from it because of the new-agey-ness of it. You know, the “find your center, empty your mind” stuff. Well, my center is Christ, so how does that work? Anyways, I have heard about a Christian yoga DVD that I have been wanting to check out that does the poses/ stretched, but includes scripture and encourages FILLING you mind w/ the word of truth! I’ll let you know about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

