Let’s take some Sizzle!

Title is my personal spin on my new version of the SOUP!! πŸ˜€

Sizzle

Seriously, Thank you all for waiting so patiently (like you had a choice in the matter! LOL). At long last, I can present a finished Sizzle! I almost didn’t get the photos this evening because it started pouring just before we left our house, but when we got to our quaint destination the rain hadn’t gotten to us yet and the sun was still shining! WooHoo!

Sizzle

I love this top!! I’ve wanted to make it forever, ok since I started knitting! Wendy is a great designer and I’ve admired her patterns – again forevah!

Pattern: Sizzle (Ravelry)
Yarn: Rayon Blend I nabbed on eBay!
Needles: Size 6 – Knit Picks Options. I had to go down a needle size to get gauge, so that brings me to the size…
Size: 38″, more on this in a minute.
Mods: I couple, but only because I can’t read! LOL I left off one decrease and one increase because I didn’t do the original increase after the cast-on. (Are you lost yet?) Then I added 12 rows between the increases and decreases for some length. I also went with *my* measurement on when to separate the two fronts and later when to separate the sleeves. I was sort of wondering what size to make, although I knew that I wasn’t a size 38″ but I didn’t want it to be too tight either. Enter rayon yarn in a smaller gauge. There’s really no chance of this top being too tight. It’s swingy and more tunic length than I originally planned, but it’s so cool!

Sizzle

I also discussed with Marjorie that the front of the armholes were gaping open. Luckily a good soak and a little blocking have fixed this issue. The only thing I don’t like is the rayon on yarn wrinkles very easily.

But I’m sure you’re all wondering, would I make it again? You bet – in fact I’ve already cast-on for another in Lion Brand Cotton-Ease (that I actually had in the stash!) and I’m doing quite a few mods to it. πŸ˜‰ More details on that to come though….

I hope everyone had a great weekend! We went to the Secret City festival and the Lavender Festival, but I was really disappointed that the new LYS didn’t have more stock available. Oh well maybe next year.

And just because I know you all will get a kick out of these, here’s the link to the outtakes collage.

Have a great week!

34 thoughts on “Let’s take some Sizzle!

  1. Hee hee. We *totally* dig The Soup πŸ˜‰

    Sizzle looks absolutely gorgeous on you! Great job and fantastic photos too! Love the outtakes & glad you’re loving your new top πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  2. Hee hee. We *totally* dig The Soup πŸ˜‰

    Sizzle looks absolutely gorgeous on you! Great job and fantastic photos too! Love the outtakes & glad you’re loving your new top πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  3. super! wow. it looks as though it fits you perfectly. how pleased you must be? and already making a second one. geex. if i wasn’t rapidly expanding, i’d so make one for myself. yeah, i’m not so sure i understood your modifications, but you did, and that’s all that is important. can’t wait to see sizzle’s encore performance. am i misremembering? somehow i thought this one had the floaty cap sleeves? maybe that’s ms. marigold. got to keep my patterns straight.

  4. super! wow. it looks as though it fits you perfectly. how pleased you must be? and already making a second one. geex. if i wasn’t rapidly expanding, i’d so make one for myself. yeah, i’m not so sure i understood your modifications, but you did, and that’s all that is important. can’t wait to see sizzle’s encore performance. am i misremembering? somehow i thought this one had the floaty cap sleeves? maybe that’s ms. marigold. got to keep my patterns straight.

  5. Looks great!! I love your highlights too! Did you just get them redone? The caramel-y tones are really pretty, esp. in the first picture. It cracks me up that we share a lot of the same blog readers now. Marjorie rocks on helping with technical questions like that – she is my go-to woman on anything of that sort!

  6. Looks great!! I love your highlights too! Did you just get them redone? The caramel-y tones are really pretty, esp. in the first picture. It cracks me up that we share a lot of the same blog readers now. Marjorie rocks on helping with technical questions like that – she is my go-to woman on anything of that sort!

  7. Gorgeous! I love the fit you achieved. I think it is very flattering and I would love it if mine fit more like yours. I love the color. Your Salsa Sizzle is going to look great too!

  8. Gorgeous! I love the fit you achieved. I think it is very flattering and I would love it if mine fit more like yours. I love the color. Your Salsa Sizzle is going to look great too!

Leave a Reply

