Hello again…

Writing a blog post for the first time is somewhat intimidating, but writing a blog post after a long hiatus is even more daunting. If you were to sum my life up into one word this fall, the word would be changes. Alot of things have changed over the past few months since I’ve been away. Some of the changes I will talk about here and others, well we’ll just hit the highlights and move on, shall we? (long post ahead)

Job Changes: First up, I felt the need to stop blogging for my new job – that should have been a red flag right there, but no. Second up, neither Caveman, nor I were prepared for the enormity that such a move would entail – both mentally/emotionally and physically, I really don’t think anyone is…. And C: I just plain old didn’t like the job after I got there, so in mid-December I quit my new job and came home. We and our families couldn’t be happier!  I am currently unemployed, but am hopeful the new year will bring a new job.

There’s nothing like throwing your life into complete ciaos to get your priorities straight! LOL While I was gone I discovered that my little family means more to me than any dollar amount, that life is sweetest when you are on your knees with your husband before your Maker pouring out your heart and soul, that my role as a wife – daughter – sister – mother – etc is more important than any career status ever will be and that there’s no place like home!

House Changes: Caveman started getting the house ready to sell after I left, however we do not plan on selling anytime soon now. We still needed to lay hardwood flooring in the two smaller bedrooms. He and my Dad worked on the front bedroom while I was gone, then when I came home I painted the walls so they were no longer pepto pink! Don’t get me wrong I think every little girl should have a pink bedroom and there are so many gorgeous shades to choose from, so why does every little girl choose that hideous shade? That’s all I’m sayin’. Anyway now the color is Pecan Sandie! That painting spree launched a redo of most of the living area color from Limestone (green/grey) to Desert Floor (sand).

Then today Caveman and I started laying the office bedroom flooring. Once this bedroom is complete the entire house, with the exception of the laundry room will have hardwood flooring and be completely different than the day we bought it. 100% improvement is all I can say. We also rearranged the living room furniture too and it’s so much more cozy in here. Pictures will happen soon, but definitely not until after the New Year.

Knitting News: Since this is a knitting blog (but has definitely evolved into an everything blog) I thought I would show you the One and Only Hand-Knit Christmas Gift this year. The lucky recipient was my brother’s new finance! Congrats again little brother!

That’s me modeling it (as if you couldn’t tell) and yes Robin, that is the skein of red variegated wool you sent  a year ago for me to untangle. Thanks again! I loved this one and I really hope I can make another one for myself soon.

This is the other project I’m working on…the Drops Jacket from Fall 07. I’ve knit it three times from the top-down using the exact measurements, a smaller variation and a really small variation of the measurements from canarysanctuary’s mods and knitNbeader’s mods as a guide. The third time really has been the charm. Once I’m finished I’ll be sure to update my mods here and on Ravelry.

Goals for 2009: I think I will repost the Finished Knits pages on the blog and some of my links, but definitely not all the posts from the previous two years. I also will attempt to limit the amount of personal information I put on here. With all the changes going on in my life I get somewhat nervous about putting too much of myself and my family out there.

I definitely want to get a new job, but this time it doesn’t have to be the best, most wonderful, rule-my-life job – it just needs to be a job.

Knitting goals: I have a few patterns I’ve been working on for a year or so now and a couple are even ready to go. With the added time on my hands I think I would like to accomplish this goal before March of this year!

There are other goals too, but those will be revealed in due time! 😀 Until next time Happy Knitting and Caveman & I wish you a very safe and a very blessed Happy New Year!

8 thoughts on “Hello again…

  1. Yay! You’re back! 🙂 I was hoping that you weren’t gone for good. I enjoy your blog too much.

    Things always work out for the best. Anyhow, welcome back and Happy New Year’s Eve!

  2. Happy New Year! That’s too bad about the job, but best to get out sooner rather than later. I’m sure you’ll find something perfect soon. Enjoy some knitting time while you look. 🙂

  3. Happy New Year!!

    It’s wonderful to have you back 🙂 I’m so sorry the new job didn’t work out and took so much out of both of you, but I’m glad that you had the guts to say so and take a stand for what’s important to you and your family. I’ve had jobs like that before and it’s amazing how much they take away from you without you realizing it. There’s no substitute for happiness and I would much rather have a pay cut or a less ambitious career if it meant being happy personally. I hope you find something that balances all of that for you. I’ll send lots of good thoughts your way 🙂

Leave a Reply

