Garn Studio/Drops Jacket Let Down & Valentines…

***Warning: Long, Picture Heavy Post***

Knitting News: So as you know I’ve been working on the famous Drops Jacket from 2007. I used Canary Knit’s mods found here & here (she made two). It was bound to happen at some point and I haven’t had a dud with my knitting in a long time, but I am really not happy with how mine turned out. I’m pretty sure the reason is because I used a bulky yarn instead of a worsted weight yarn when following Canary Knits mods. Anyway we need some photos as proof.

Front, meh..

Front open – a little better, but not much…

The back doesn’t look too bad, but I’m not crazy about this one at all.

So after looking on Ravelry I’m considering going with the Lion Neck Cardigan or the other recent hit on Ravelry, Owls. Which ever I choose it will be awhile before I start because this is going back into a drawer while I finish up a few other WIPs and get going on Caveman’s Leo sweater for the March/April installment of Project Spectrum 2009. This year’s Project Spectrum sounds and looks really interesting. If you haven’t checked it out yet, hop on over to Lolly’s blog, she does a fabulous job of explaining it.

Baby News: I’m really thinking I want to make the crib/nursery stuff. I saw some material at Hobby Lobby a couple of weekends ago that I liked, but I on Valentine’s Day Caveman took me to JoAnn’s Fabrics to check out their selection as well. The nursery fabrics were slightly on sale and so were their patterns. So I ended up buying the nursery sewing pattern from Simplicity that I wanted and a yard each of some really cute fabrics, both are really gender neutral. Now I need to buy a few coordinating fabricsย  for the crib bumpers and blanket, and lots of cottons and flannels to make the sheets. My cousin was telling me how expensive the fitted crib sheets were, so when I purchased the nursery pattern I was relieved when I noticed there was a fitted sheet pattern included!

Also on Saturday, aside from receiving a gorgeous bouquet (above) from Caveman (that he designed and assembled himself), he took me to Babies R Us to check out and get acquainted with some baby gear. The grandparents have said they wanted to help purchase a few things and they are so excited we thought we would get a jump on looking and choosing some things. We found the perfect baby furniture that will grow with the baby. We also sat in a couple of rocking chairs and a perused the strollers. There was another couple there and boy were they on a mission! She looked like delivery was still a month off or so, but they were buying a stroller that day and no one was getting in their way. LOL

Pregnancy News: I’m not sure if you can tell from the photos above but I do have a tiny bump. LOL In those photos I was 8 weeks along. I’m 9 now and there isn’t much difference. ๐Ÿ˜€ The nausea has worsened over the last week or so, but it’s still not that bad. Caveman is wonderful though, he will rub my belly or my back @ anytime, day or night. He is so sweet! ๐Ÿ˜‰ We both are having mood swings and I cry over anything – you know its like having PMS all the time now. LOL! So we are taking it day by day and enjoying it more and more. We tried yesterday to hear the heartbeat and we faintly could with a stethoscope. It is reassuring to me and fun for Caveman too.

I think that’s all for now. I have tried multiple times to post this into bloggiland but everytime I get sidetracked or can’t find the photos I want, etc. Hopefully I’ll make smaller post over the next few weeks. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Knitting everyone!! I hope your Valentine’s Day was extra special!

9 thoughts on “Garn Studio/Drops Jacket Let Down & Valentines…

  1. I think it is the shape of that knitting project that is the issue – I made an asymmetrical collared cardi that I never wear either. It’s too big and lumpy on me. So don’t worry about it, it’s the pattern, not you. I would vote for the Lion Neck cardigan for the yarn repurposing.

  2. I like the furniture y’all picked! We went with something similar with the girl-child.

    I really like the Owls pattern. Don’t you hate it when sweaters don’t turn out the way we want them to?

  3. What are you kidding me?? The sweater looks just fine to me! And I don’t see a baby bump either!

    Also, God continues to order your steps and provide provision. I am sure everything will work out just fine with the new job quest. Thank goodness you got ample notice too!

  4. the sweater looks great, and i think it will be a great maternity sweater, except that you’ll mostly be pregnant over the summer. but, you’ll get to wear it this fall while you’re transitioning back into your regular clothes, i’m sure! love the baby furniture you picked out! i don’t remember crib sheets being so expensive, but that’s great that you want to make so many of your own. get started now. i remember the second trimester being the only time i had any energy. i wish i’d used that time more wisely, by my third trimester i was too wiped out to accomplish anything around the house at all.

  5. I like the sweater and think it looks nice on you.

    You’ll have so much fun sewing the things for the nursery! I did that for our daughter and loved it. The funny thing is that I thought I had picked gender neutral fabrics. But when she was born, it was obvious I had created a girl’s room. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Which Simplicity pattern did you get for the nursery? I am so excited for you! And that you are going to make your little cavebaby ๐Ÿ™‚ their own unique nursery stuff! Very fun. I had some trouble with making the bumpers & would do that a little differently than my pattern called for the next time around (which I hope is soon!!!).

    I like the sweater… maybe think of it more of a coat. But it is cute. I love the collar. The color goes with everything!

  7. I don’t think your sweater is bad looking! But I understand feeling ‘meh’ about it. That’s how I felt about my Dahlia too. I think it’s a good idea to put it aside for a while before repurposing the yarn – that way you won’t have all those negative feelings attached to it when you start something new ๐Ÿ˜‰

    What a beautiful Valentine’s Day gifty! And it sounds like you had a great day together too. It will be so exciting to see what you make for the nursery ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

