Goodbye March…

**Warning**Long, Photo heavy post

I realize March has been gone a week now, but I’ve been a little slow on getting this post up. These past few weeks have seemed to slip away from me quicker than I expected. True to form, March roared out of here like a Lion last week. We enjoyed beautiful balmy 70/80 degree weather over the weekend, but woke up to snow covered roof-tops this morning. That’s spring for you though. πŸ˜‰ I do like this time of year because the sky is always changing and is so beautiful.

I don’t believe I mentioned this before but Caveman has started back to school to finish up his BS in Business Finance. He received his Associates of Arts this past summer, but we are hopeful that before the baby is born, he will complete the BS. He feels very blessed to have this opportunity and is so excited about the future. So while I cut out sewing patterns and then fabrics last weekend, he studied. Not all that exciting to most people, but it was heaven to me.

I’ve almost got my first dress completed. I’m so proud of it because I’m using the upper bodice from a “regular” pattern and the bottom is from a maternity pattern. I will be able to get at least three different style dresses out of these two patterns. πŸ˜€ I finished up sewing the bindings to one of the quilts before I began sewing the dress together last Monday. My first challenge is the zipper on the dress and then hemming – which I hate.

My next challenge is tackling the jersey knits I have planned. I’ve not really sewn knit fabrics that much, but what do you think of my first attempt. πŸ™‚

A very happy surprise I discovered while cutting out the fabrics last weekend, is that although I had purchased 2 yards of the black, brown and white knit print, I only needed one yard to make a maternity top. Now I have enough for a regular top later!! Yeah, me! I’m working on this one today, wish me luck!

In addition to the recent fabric and maternity pattern purchases, I bought a couple of books too. The first is the recently released Amy Butler’s Little Stitches and the second is Itty Bitty Nursery from Susan B. Anderson. I love these books!

From the AB book, I’m planning to make a couple bags using the Everyday bag pattern. I have quite a bit of heavy cotton twill in various prints that will work nicely. There are also loads of great baby/nursery patterns to make in this book!

From the SB book, I started the super cute and popular cover cardigan and hat in some cotton recycled from an older sweater. The yarn color is actually more of a darker raspberry than the photo shows. I never wore the sweater that much and I really liked the colors, but not exactly together. Again, this book has lots of super cute, really sweet baby and nursery patterns.

In baby-growing news…I’m feeling really good. Definitely have a routine of walking at least one mile for 20/30 minutes 3 or 4 days a week now. I’m eating good, but staying around the same weight. I have a baby bump, but outwardly you really can’t tell it yet. I can certainly tell it though! My entire abdomen is expanding, so I get lots of cramps and aches in the abdominal muscles. From the first few weeks of pregnancy, my left oblique muscle has cramped up when I try to sit up or half sit up from a lying down position. Turning over in my sleep hasn’t been fun ever since. πŸ˜‰

And for everyone interested, I can feel the baby move around and kick. I was cutting out patterns last weekend and was bent over reaching for the floor and got a hard, definite kick. I sat up and in mid-sentence to Caveman, said “Oh alright, I’ll sit up already!” He looked at me funny and then realized I was talking to the baby. He just laughed. Last Tuesday morning, I was up helping Caveman get ready for work and could feel some flutters or quickening a few times. It was pretty neat!

I always feed the dogs every morning and Casey, the smaller female, loves to bark for her dinner. I was wondering when I would feel the baby respond to her barking, well today I could feel the baby quickening and kicking hard. It must really like the dogs, I hope anyway!

Whew! Well if you made it this far congrats and thank you! I’ll be back later this week with a few surprises and hopefully a modeled dress photo!!

Happy Knitting and Have a Blessed Day!

7 thoughts on “Goodbye March…

  1. The dress looks really cute! Great idea on combining non-maternity and maternity pattern pieces too, so it’s not too big on top and through the shoulders. That’s also great that you have stayed about the same weight but have the bump – you must have lost weight everywhere else!

  2. That dress is gorgeous! I love the print- very cute. Are you wearing that for Easter? That’s so funny that you are trying out sewing knitwear- I have been trying to do that too. I bought a pattern & some super cheap fabric to use as a test drive project…. I have a couple sewing projects going on right now, hopefully I’ll get some FO’s up soon πŸ™‚

  3. Really cute dress! πŸ™‚ I remember when I was in my 8th and 9th month, watching the baby move and stretch around was our nightly entertainment.

    Glad you’re feeling good!

  4. HI, I found you through Robin’s blog.
    Looks like you and I are due with our little ones around the same time. My due date is 08/15/09. I just recently started feeling the baby as well. It is such an awesome feeling isn’t it?
    Anyway congratulations!

  5. So glad everything is going well, it’s great when you feel your baby moving around, makes it even more real I always thought.
    And I used to talk to them too.

  6. Pingback: Purple Rain « Rubys N Purls

Leave a Reply

