First of many book reviews

I recently joined Blogging for Books review program from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. In exchange for a fair review I receive a free copy of one of their books. I was able to submit my preferences and was given a list of books to choose from. I can also provide reviews on books I already own too. I love reading mostly Historical Christian Romance Novels, but I also am interested in reviewing children’s books and inspirational Christian books as well.

For my first review I received The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck.

Rating: 4 Stars

Summary: Although Charlotte Beck proclaims herself a grown-up, she certainly doesn’t act or think like one. She stubbornly and willfully asserts herself to her parents, grandfather and all of London society with her antics, which of course land her in plenty of trouble. With grand ideas of attending Wesley College in the fall, Charlotte has convinced her stepmother to allow her to enter society a bit early. Thinking to control her wild ways, Daniel Beck, Charlotte’s father proposes she enter into marriage instead of college.

Alex Hamby would like nothing better than for his family and Charlotte Beck to leave him alone so he can complete his research in Astronomy. Being the perfect gentleman that he is, each time Charlotte is thrust into his path, he deals with her as best he can, but vows to never see her again. When Daniel sees the two together, he offers them an arranged marriage that neither can refuse. Both Charlotte and Alex privately agree to annul this inconvenient marriage, but when Alex’s feelings change will Charlotte’s as well?

Review: Kathleen Y’Barbo’s third novel in the series is light-hearted and an entertainingly quick read.  I enjoyed the banter between Charlotte & Alex from the start and looked forward to each scene including the two. Charlotte’s spunky, yet somewhat conniving nature provides humorous vignettes throughout the novel.  I saw my younger self in Charlotte Beck; her stubborn nature and selfishness is irritating and describes exactly what I was like at that age. Thankfully both Charlotte & I grew through our experiences into adulthood to become better people.  Funny too, Alex reminds me a lot of my husband, in that he is the only one who “can handle her” as Charlotte’s father puts it, thus fueling his desire for the arranged marriage.

There were times the plot moved so quickly that I felt it somewhat lacking and others that Ms. Y’Barbo reached the perfect tempo. I was not particularly fond of the quotes by Miss Pence that opened each chapter and found they were somewhat redundant and frustrating.  Also while one mystery was cleared up, the long standing feud between the Hamby/Beck families was never resolved and I found myself pondering what could have started it in the first place. The contrast of the rugged Wild West and London high society provided a unique backdrop for the story, which offered a fitting end to the trilogy which includes The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper and Anna Finch and the Hired Gun.  I hadn’t heard of Kathleen Y’Barbo until reading this book, but now I will definitely check out her first two books in the series.

The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck is available for purchase on the following sites: Christian Book Distributors, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Multnomah/ WaterBrook Press through their blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

