Jumping on the Mod-Podge Bandwagon!

Last weekend I attempted another of the latest crazes in blog-land – mod-podging photos onto canvas, only I used foam board instead of canvas. I used this great tutorial from Sassy Pepper.

Supplies assembled; deep breath, now let the gluing begin!

See the board we taped together in the photo above, it worked like a dream – no problems at all. I was very worried it wouldn’t take the glue or the photograph would come off, but so far so good. These photos will go in our bedroom, I took them a few years ago when I had peonies growing out front. Please forgive the terrible lighting, they actually look amazing in person.

Mod-podge dry, photos on the foam board; only need to clean up the edges.

I’m considering adding a ribbon or decorative paper or maybe just white or black paper to the edges. We’ll see once I get them all done.

Attempting to show the brush marks in the mod-podge

It actually took me a couple of months to work up the courage to do this. First I ordered the photos from Meridian Pro in November, it took about two weeks to get them but they looked great. When you upload your photos to Meridian Pro part of their service is that your photos are automatically retouch for you. I got six 11×14 prints for $3.99 each. The other four images I’m going to use in the living room.  I was very pleased at how the photographs turned out, so the thought of ruining them with mod-podge scared me to death, but I figured if everyone else was doing it I could too. 😉 Now back to mod-podging the other four photos and lots of smaller ones too; to use with my DIY frames – more to come on them this weekend.

3 thoughts on “Jumping on the Mod-Podge Bandwagon!

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday Honey!! « Rubys N Purls

  2. Pingback: DIY Wooden Frames « Rubys N Purls

Leave a Reply

