Winter Style – Trend of the Month: Subtle Stripes

January’s Trend of the Month Challenge is here!!

January TOTM Image

I love participating these TOTM challenges! Marion is so awesome to host these, but especially now at 9 1/2 months preggers. If you’ve never stopped by her blog, please be sure to check out her fabulous style, pregnant or not!!

Subtle Stripes

Knit Top, Bat-wing Top & Loafers: Target, Blazer – Thrifted, Pants – Chadwicks

I thrifted this great blazer just before Christmas. It had a faux fur collar attached to it and although I am excited to have thrifted the faux fur, I knew the blazer would be a great piece with or without the fur addition. The buttons are a bit dated so I’m considering replacing those at some point.

For today’s outfit, I really wanted the stripes to be the main focus. I’m wearing my bat-wing top (last seen here) that has small vertical gold stripes with the horizontal stripes of the blazer. Right now, I can do subtle stripes. Pairing bold stripes together is just a little too far out of my comfort zone yet. It’s all about baby steps, right?

Today is also about layering. It was cold and frosty this morning, so I’m layering with a basic black knit top, the bat-wing top and then the blazer. When I’m outside I had a hefty scarf and wool coat!

image

You can see the subtle striping better (hopefully) in these photos. Please excuse the puffy face, another round of sinus infections has slowly been making it’s way through our home the past couple of weeks.

I’m also linking up with these lovely ladies today!

pleated poppy  

11 thoughts on “Winter Style – Trend of the Month: Subtle Stripes

  1. Monica – I LOVE this look! The stripes really do take center stage and I love how they are offset by the wine-colored pants. Just perfect for work!
    As always, thanks so much for linking up!!
    xo – Marion

Leave a Reply

