Valentine’s Day Heart DIY

Valentine’s Day is the perfect day to show off my DIY skills, LOL! I am in love with all the graphic print sweaters, sweatshirts and Tees. Every store has them and just about every fashion/style blogger has worn them.
DIY_Heart_Font

While at Tar’jey the other day I found long-sleeve knit tops on clearance for $3, I scooped up two and instantly the DIY wheels started churning. This shirt is lilac, but can almost pass for a shade of pink. I knew a red heart on the front would be perfect!

Valentine’s Day Heart DIY

Let’s get started… here’s what you will need for this DIY:
1. Long-Sleeve Knit Top or Sweater
2. Red Knit material cut out in the shape of a heart!
3. Scissors – to cut said material
4. Straight pins – to hold the heart in place
5. Needle and Black embroidery thread – I used 4 strands

The heart is hand-sewn onto to the shirt. Here’s how I did it…

DIY_Heart_howto

1. Long-sleeve Knit Top; 2. Place Heart on Top
3. Pin in Place; 4. Hand Sew with Black Embroidery Thread

In the photos above, I laid out my tee, placed the heart wear I wanted, pinned in place and then used a running stitch and every so often, a back stitch to sew the heart onto the shirt.  I stitched approximately a quarter of an inch away from the edge all the way around the heart! When you get to the end, knot your thread – taking care not to pull the fabric too tightly, and your done! Here’s the finished tee…

DIY_Heart

I had another meeting today so I dressed up the basic tee with a black blazer and red pants. Since it’s Valentine’s Day I kept the red lip for my Valentine’s Day business casual look.

DIY_Heart2

I’m linking up with these lovely ladies again today!

pleated poppy   button button Wow Wow Wednesday with This Girls Life Photobucket Wunderbar

14 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Heart DIY

Leave a Reply

