Fashion Friday: LBD – Office Edition

I’ve been seeing loads of LBD’s (little black dresses for those not in the know) popping up all over blogland lately and I thought I’d thrown in my take on the LBD: Office Edition.

LBD, Business Casual, Office Wear, Statement Necklace, Sandals

LBD – JCP, Statement Necklace – Julep, Sandals – Payless

I’m sure you’ve all heard it before but I’m going to remind you again. If you invest in a great staple, like this linen-blend sheath, it will last you many, many years; throughout many different fashion trends. I picked up this LBD from JCP approximately 10 years ago when I became a real professional office worker! 😉

This little guy had gotten me through many meetings, after work drinks/casual dinners, Sunday’s at church and it would even work great for an afternoon out with the family.

LBD_BC_closeup

For this look, simplicity is key! Simple redlip, statement necklace, earrings and sandals. What do you think? For me it’s perfect for the office.

LBD_BC_Collage

It’s that time again!!! Each month I eagerly anticipate Marion’s announcement for the Trend of the Month challenge! Wednesday she announced the Trend of the Month for May would be Yellow! Be sure to link up your “Yellow” inspired outfits next Wednesday.

May_trend_month_yellow

The challenges usually push me out of my comfort zone and this month’s challenge has been no exception. You have to understand, I love the color yellow as much as the next gal but have always been afraid to wear it and therefore I do not really own anything in yellow. There are no cute yellow skirts, blouses, scarves, purses, heels, flats, necklaces or earrings in my closet and this fact has got me worried about how to play along next week. What I do own in the color yellow is one bangle, one set of hoop earrings, a DIY necklace, a yellow button up shirt and one yellow tee! Come back next week to see how I utilize what I’ve got to create a couple of different outfits!

Joining in on these linky parties this Friday!

Fashion Friday @ All Things Chic / Two Thirty Five Designs / Favorite Frock Friday / Fridays Fancies / Fashion Informant Link Up / Vodka Infused Lemonade Thursday Link-up! / Fridays Five / Style Me Friday

7 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: LBD – Office Edition

  1. Ahhh….yay for LBD!!! AND I totally agree with you a little black dress is a great investment piece that you can literally hold onto forever. It’s one thing that never goes out of style. Just switch up accessories and shoes to match the times. Love this look on you Monica!!

  2. Pingback: Pops of yellow | Librarian for Life and Style

Leave a Reply

