Labor Day weekend update and a hand-knit gift!!

Here’s a mosiac of me over the past few weeks.

1. 33wks, 2. 36wks, 3. 37wks-side, 4. BW-cradlingHands. Created with fd’s Flickr Toys. I’m certainly getting bigger and less mobile as I get closer to the due date (Sept. 20 – in case you forgot). So far so good with the pregnancy. We had an appointment with the midwives Wednesday. They did all the typical stuff – weight me, measure the belly, took the blood pressure and so far everything is normal. We are all just waiting on Cavebaby to make his grand appearance. I helped Caveman some yesterday. He washed the vehicles and I dried them with the chami cloth, then we washed the dogs – which consisted of me holding the dog while he washed. After all that I needed a rest!

Next up, Cavebaby received his first hand-knitted gift!! Isn’t it beautiful? Jessi over at Alabama Fiber Dreams made this beautiful baby vest.

She used the Pebble Baby Vest pattern found here and on Ravelry, in Hempwol. As soon as Caveman saw it, he declared he needed a matching vest too, in Hempwol. So I guess I better get busy making him either a matching vest or a full grown version of Cobblestone (Ravelry)! LOL Cavebaby has received some beautiful gifts, a few of which I will show in my next post.

I finally got the Coast Guard quilt done for Cavebaby and as proof here are photos of the front and back:


1. Cavebaby’s_quilt, 2. Cavebaby’s-quilt-back. Created with fd’s Flickr Toys

The front is an exact replica of what the US Coast Guard logo and stripe looks like on the ship. We even got the angle of the stripe as exact as possible at 64 degrees. Caveman is so proud of this quilt. He really helped alot with the design and the assembly.  I used a fusible cotton batting instead of the polyfil stuff. The fusible cotton batting is really cool and helped so much with keeping everything together. It is really easy to use too, you just but all the pieces together as you normally would for assembling a quilt and then iron them together. If you need to you can peel up the quilt material and reiron. I highly recommend this stuff. I also finished the crib skirt yesterday that matches, but I just don’t have any photos yet. It is raining today so maybe I will work on the bumper pad and/or diaper bag.

I can’t believe that summer is over already and that fall is here. I hope everyone is having a great holiday weekend. I’ll be back soon with more photos and knitting/sewing progress.

4 thoughts on “Labor Day weekend update and a hand-knit gift!!

  1. Love the belly pictures. 🙂 I wish I’d done some of the portraits with my hubby holding my tummy. Those are always so sweet looking!

    Glad you liked the little vest. And the Coast Guard quilt is amazing! Great job!

  2. Congrats on the pregnancy! You are going to love being a momma. Well, when you aren’t exhausted, that is. 🙂 Beautiful handknit vest and quilts – it’s so fun to surround babies in things we and friends have made.

Leave a comment